Our House System

At St Mary MacKillop College, every student and staff member belongs to one of our four Houses; Solomon, Tension, Woods, or Xavier. Upon enrolment, students are assigned to a vertical Homeroom in their House, consisting of students from Years 7 – 12. They will remain in this Homeroom, ideally with the same Homeroom teacher, for the length of their journey at the school. The Homeroom teacher is the first point of call for families and works within a House Team led by the House Leader.

The House system works to strengthen the College’s Josephite heritage, enhance the connection of students across and within year groups and encourage greater student and staff engagement in school events and activities. Students attend Homeroom each morning from Monday through Thursday, and student achievement is recognised at weekly House assemblies. On Friday, students attend a whole school assembly in place of Homeroom.

Teacher Advisor Program
The Teacher Advisor program is part of the support Homeroom teachers provide students. Each term every student meets individually with their Teacher Advisor to discuss and monitor their academic and pastoral progress. This regular contact builds trust and ensures that families and teachers know each student’s strengths and needs and that secure relationships are formed that guide the students along their learning journey.

MacKillop Cup Points
House members work together every month to earn points for their House, and at the end of the year, the winning House is awarded the MacKillop Cup trophy at our Presentation Night. Points can be earned in the areas of; academics, arts, sport, community service, and living out the school values.  The House System encourages teamwork, friendship, service, and leadership as students work for the good of their House.


Solomon  House

Solomon House is named after Emanuel Solomon. He was born in London and arrived in Sydney in 1818. He was an Adelaide business man and a member of Parliament who showed practical sympathy for the Sisters. When Mary MacKillop gave up her Convent for the newly arrived Dominican Nuns from Ireland, Emanuel gave her a row of houses for the 19 country sisters coming to Adelaide for their Annual Retreat.

Solomon House Leader

Mr Chris Joyce

E: cjoyce@mackillopsh.vic.edu.au

Solomon Homeroom Teachers

Solomon 1

Ms Nella O’Brien

Solomon 2

Ms Mandy McCallum

Solomon 3

Ms Sally Op’t Hoog

Solomon 4

Ms Chelsea Watson

Ms Michelle Haeusler

Solomon 5

Mr Nick Danaher

Tenison House

Tenison House is named after Fr Julian Tenison Woods. Fr Woods was the Parish Priest at Penola where St Mary MacKillop first started her school. Fr Woods also built the first church in Penola in 1858.

Tenison House Leader

Ms Jennifer Salvo

E: jsalvo@mackillopsh.vic.edu.au

Tenison Homeroom Teachers

Tenison 1

  Mr Luke   Crow

Tenison 2

Mr Geoff Hickmott

Tenison 3

Ms Catherine Smith

Ms Claire Tilburn

Tenison 4

    Ms Laura     Crow

Ms Jaclyn Clark

Tenison 5

Mr Eddie Scholtens

Woods House

Woods House is named after Fr Julian Tenison Woods. An active geologist and missionary priest, he was the Parish Priest at Penola where St Mary MacKillop first started her school. Fr Woods also built the first church in Penola in 1858. It was here that he co-founded the Congregation of Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart with Mary in 1866.

Woods House Leader

Mr Joel Murphy

E: jmurphy@mackillopsh.vic.edu.au

Woods Homeroom Teachers

Woods 1 

Mr Rob Waterson

Ms Lyndal Robinson

Woods 2

Ms Jessica Curtis

Woods 3

Ms Nicole Miceli

Woods 4

Mr Jeremy Wood

Woods 5

Mr Damian Howison

Xavier House

Xavier House is nmaed after Sister Francis Xavier. Born Blanche Amsinct in England she was the daughter of Captain Henry Amsinck of the Royal Navy and Charlotte nee Wilson a former lady-in-waiting to Queen Victoria. Blanche arrived in Melbourne with her father whilst a young woman. Blanche worked as a governess prior to becoming a companion to St Mary in 1866. She was the first Postulant after Mary MacKillop started the order of the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart. She died in 1932.

Xavier House Leader

Ms Ebonee Gurnett

E: egurnett@mackillopsh.vic.edu.au

Xavier Homeroom Teachers

Xavier 1

Mr Damien Hirst

Xavier 2

Ms Monique Watt

Xavier  3

  Mr Tony   Haley

Xavier 4

Ms Jane Alderuccio

Ms Roisin Sheedy

Xavier 5 

  Ms Suzy   Haley

Creating pathways for students in Year 10, 11 and 12

Enrol now for 2020

Offering 24 Authority subjects and 19 Certificate courses.

St Mary MacKillop College is a Year 7 to 12 coeducational Catholic secondary school. Since its inception in 1985 the College has expanded and now caters for 430 students.

Enrol Now



August 27, 2019

The St Mary MacKillop College Library Committee is pleased to announce our The Little Free Library is now open! The Little Free Library will be accessible from the front of the Technology Centre, corner of McCrae and Splatt Street. Members of the public are urged to access this and please spread the word to your …

Subscribe to our newsletter